Leaving Texas

Posted: July 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

I left Texas in 1966 after one year at Trinity University, for greener pastures in California.

What a surprise when I got to San Francisco, and found the Summer of Love in full swing. Not really knowing what was going on, I just tried to blend in, I got some beads, grew my hair long, lived for a while, in the 200 block of Haight Street, hung out with people into free love, who said “cool” a lot, and smoked dope, I even inhaled. The free love thing was something new, it had not caught on in Texas like it did in San Francisco.

Any other ex-hippies out there?

Leave a Reply

